Thread:

Default Motor build suggestions?

Hey guys! I know this isnt an original post but ive done a lot of reading on this topic but still have some questions.

I had a problem a little after i got my blast, turns out the crank output shaft stripped. Instead of tearing it down, sending it to a machine shop to make sure a new crank is true and rebuilding everything, i just bought a motor (with less miles) and swapped them.

Now im trying to plan out a build for my second motor that i can build and then just swap it out. Obviously theres the big bore kits out there, but im more interested in knowing what cams, springs, lifters, and all the odds and ends. This will be my first motorcycle build (i have built several car motors before) so im not a total noob lol

Ill be using the bike on the street - i ride pretty aggressively and wouldnt mind a “race” built motor. Im looking for info on what parts (w/part numbers or from what bike) would be better. Im thinking of going with the 600 kit, but am having a tough time figuring out what cams and such would work the best, ive seen that adjustable lifters are a go to, any brands better than others? If you could have done something differently to your motor, what would you have done instead?

Like always, I appreciate all the knowledge you guys have and look forward to hearing your opinions!

feel free to voice your opinions on this guys (and gals?)

i want to hear what you guys have done, why you do and dont like the parts you used, and what couldve been or was a better option.

im asking specifically because i want to try to get the build done in 1 go and hopefully not need to redo or change anything later - although we all do

not worth it if the blast is your one and only bike. still not really worth it if you have multiple bikes. but its your money....