Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread:

Noobie

Default Carb tuning problems

Hey guys, i could use some of your infinite wisdom on how to properly tune my carb. Im new to bikes and carbs are definitely not my specialty. Ive read a bunch of other threads on tuning and tried tuning it a bunch of ways but it really mind boggling how no matter what i do it always struggles somewhere. Obviously everyones bike is different so it wont be the same for everyone, id really appreciate some guidance on what to try.

Heres what i have done to the bike so you can get a better idea what might work for my situation

- Filterwears pre-filter
    - 4 velocity stack
    - 6sigma Carb jets (48-175) *do not recommend kit*
    - Needle shimmed to .045
    - Dans Allen head bolt kit
    - Air fuel EZ-mix screw
    - Dans Superboot
    - Carb brace (carb springs)
    - NGK Iridium spark plug
    - Vance and hines exhaust (packing blew out)

Last night i went on a group ride with some friends and i know its got to be running lean in the mid range because my carb blew itself off 3 times. Under heavy load it bogs down like its flooding the cylinder, and at high speeds i can barely hit 80 mph and then it will start bucking like its flooding and then all combusting at once.

I want to order the yost kit to dial it in properly but have to wait until i get paid to order it this week. Obviously i know it needs to be re-jetted but i dont know what ones id be looking at changing to cure the problems. I have 42, 48, 162, 175, 180, 190 jets right now. Do you think adjusting timing could help at all? If so, could you share a link to that thread please?

Thank you all for any suggestions and advice!

Heres a pic of my velocity stack
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails 95FAD859-BB4E-466C-BD79-78C5197546B8.jpeg  
    Last edited by NotSoFastBlast; 08-31-2020 at 04:29 PM.

don't adjust timing. its likely where it needs to be.