Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread:

Default Won't start on its own

Hey!

So I'm new to motorcycles and got a '05 Buell Blast as my first bike. If I spray starting fluid into the intake it'll start, but then I also have to keep the throttle open or else it will die.

I've already cleaned the jets, and I've replaced the boot, assuming that's what it's called. The rubber part that connects the carburetor to the rest of the engine. I also know that my battery has about 12.5-12.6 volts, so that's not an issue, and I've also replaced the spark plug.

Any advice as to the next steps I should take?

The Boss
    (Admin)

Replace gas with new. Make sure the needle jet (collar) is installed in the correct direction. Chech and/or adjust your auto-enricher. Check/adjust your TPS per FSM.

Links:
    BuellMods for manuals
    Carb videos
    Timing and coil check
    "It is impossible, until some crazy son of a bitch has the audacity to believe that no matter what the expert says, I can still do that shit." - C.T. Fletcher

Click here to enlarge
    Left to Right:
    2003 Blast (Blue), 2001 XBlast (Rex), 2007 XB9R Firebolt (Bolt)

Do you like the forum? Do you appreciate the input and community support? Consider donating to help keep us alive and growing! Click here to donate!
    Like us on Facebook!

I'm sorry for such a long delay, but I haven't been able to work on it until today. I got into the auto-enrichener and noticed it was about as far back as it could go. So after moving it to cover about half of the hole it'll start on its own and take a few seconds to die without throttle. I'll continue to play with that, but do you have any other advice for about where it should sit, and other things I could do?

The Boss
    (Admin)

Sounds like your fuel valve in the carb bowl might be clogged or dirty, not letting enough fuel in. Also check that the bowl vent is clear (top left hole when looking at the carb).